Too much coleslaw

Coleslaw

Yesterday, I made far too much coleslaw. Like, buckets of the stuff. I have so much coleslaw that I don’t have enough room in my freezer to freeze all my coleslaw. Even if I wanted to, because who freezes coleslaw.

I keep on doing this. My house is groaning under the weight of all the food I keep on making. I had to buy special boxes for my cupboards and fridge so that I can put it all somewhere, and even then I have an extra box of pasta on top of the wine rack.

I’m not complaining, obviously. I’m not so much of a dick that I would complain about having too much food. I just don’t know why I do it.

Take the coleslaw, for example. I knew, as I cut the cabbage, that it was going to be too much. I put it in the bowl and it didn’t all fit and I thought, ‘This is stupid.’ But did I stop? Did I keep some cabbage back? No, clearly not. I thought to myself that, oh, maybe the cabbage won’t keep, it would just be wasteful not to use it… but there are plenty of uses for cabbage (stew, rice parcels, winter salad) which I could get around to in the several weeks it takes for cabbage to go bad. Now my cabbage is stuck as coleslaw, which really only has one use – coleslaw.

Whatever, why-ever… it looks like I’m eating coleslaw with everything for the next week. Wish me luck!

Red cabbage for coleslaw

Buckets of Coleslaw

Cut 1 red cabbage and 1 white cabbage into exceptionally thin strips. Grate 1-2 carrots and 1 eating apple into a bowl and mix it all together. You could grate the cabbage as well, I would if I were less lazy.

In a separate bowl, mix together 300ml buttermilk, 1 large tablespoon of mayonnaise and a quarter cup of apple vinegar. Season the sauce with salt and pepper, then stir it into the vegetable mixture.

If you’re feeling fancy, you can cut some herbs (chives and parsley) onto the top.

8 thoughts on “Too much coleslaw

Leave a Reply

